History of GASPA

The first planning session for the organization of a state-wide personnel association in Georgia took place in 1966 during a meeting in Atlanta of the Georgia Education Association, which later became the Georgia Association of Educators. A group of personnel administrators in attendance at the conference determined that organizing into an affiliate group would provide the opportunity during the GAE conferences for school personnel administrators to share information and find solutions to common problems.

Although no longer an affiliate of GAE, this collaboration of personnel administrators have extended in scope and influence to the present day organization, the Georgia Association of School Personnel Administrators (GASPA). Currently, GASPA provides training for personnel administrators and other educational leaders in the state. It has become a viable state organization having an influence on state laws, regulations and agencies.

As an affiliate of the American Association of School Personnel Administrators (AASPA) and most recently in 2012 becoming an affiliate of the Georgia Association of Educational Leaders (GAEL), GASPA has earned national recognition; and its members have had the opportunity to participate in the development of personnel policies and procedures of national significance.

Past Presidents of GASPA 1967 to Present

Years Served Name School District
1967-1968 J. Paul Copeland DeKalb County Schools
1968-1969 Ruth Satterfield Atlanta City Schools
1969-1970 R. Brice Carson Muscogee County Schools
1970-1971 Marvin Jones Bibb County Schools
1971-1972 James A Fountain Clayton County Schools
1972-1973 Ann Burkhart Atlanta City Schools
1973-1974 Franklin D. Grant DeKalb County Schools
1974-1975 Thomas F. Jones Spalding County Schools
1975-1976 Jerry Ingram Cobb County Schools
1976-1977 Joseph P. Williamson Houston County Schools
1977-1978 Dewell Pitts Bibb County Schools
1978-1979 Danny Brown Chatham County Schools
1979-1980 Harold Pullen Thomas County Schools
1980-1981 Alice Ann Hamilton DeKalb County Schools
1981-1982 James E. Johnson Atlanta City Schools
1982-1984 John Tucker Muscogee County Schools
1984-1986 Barbara C. Cooper DeKalb County Schools
1986-1988 Victor Verdi Gwinnett County Schools
1988-1990 Ruel M. Parker Rockdale County Schools
1990-1992 Grace Calhoun Cobb County Schools
1992-1994 Richard Binkney Henry County Schools
1994-1996 Bobby N. Stephens DeKalb County Schools
1996-1998 Sara Bosch Floyd County Schools
1998-2000 Mary M. Jessie Fulton County Schools
2000-2002 Pam Hamilton Rome City Schools
2002-2004 Betty Matthews DeKalb County Schools
2004-2006 Bill McCown Paulding County Schools
2006-2008 Andy Matthews Griffin-Spalding Schools
2008-2010 Anthony Wright Columbia County Schools
2010-2012 Don Cooper Muscogee County Schools
2012-2013 Candace Norton Forsyth County Schools
2013-2015 Sid Camp Gwinnett County Schools
2015-2016 Macy Defnall Bartow County Schools
2016-2017 Dr. Sherri Freeman Clarke County Schools
2017-2018 Paige Busbee Bibb County Schools
2018-2019 Ron Wade Fulton County Schools
2019-2020 Valerie Suessmith Henry County Schools
2020-2021 Valerie Suessmith Henry County Schools
2021-2022 Brad Brown Hall County Schools
2022-2023 Ramon Ray Savannah-Chatham County Public Schools